top of page

Cosplay The Other Roleplay

Is there any difference between Roleplay and CosPlay(Custome Play)? Most people assume that roleplay is solely done over the internet. Well that is not true as some may believe. Roleplay is also acted out in real life. Couple roleplay all the time to spice up their sex life.

Roleplay between real life couples involve dress up just like Cosplay. So they are not that different then other besides online roleplay where members write out scripted actions with characters used from actors, models or any form of celebrity, including animation characters. The fun thing about Cosplay is that you get to dress up as your favorite fictional character. Either way Cosplay and Roleplay go hand in hand.

We recently had a chat with a former roleplayer who transitioned over to Cosplay and here's what he had to say:

"Costume play, also known as Cosplay is when one dresses as a favorite character. It can be from a show, a video game, anime, movie, and some even create their own (ex: mixing two characters and making me into one) The best thing about cosplay is its for everyone. Don't matter if your big, small, short, or tall, cosplay is for all. Sometimes people will do gender bend, which means they'll take a character of the opposite sex, and do their version of it.

So if you you're a male but want to do a female character, you simply just tweak it and turn the costume into a male version. I like it because it shows the creative side of people, and I personally love to do it to see peoples reactions. As long as you have a imagination, you can literally be any thing."

My love for cosplay actually began where it starts for everyone with out most even realizing it. Do you love Halloween and love to dress up for it? Well guess what my friend, that's cosplay! Through the years I would love to dress up as someone from a favorite movie, or something scary. As I grew older, my ideas became more creative, more jaw dropping. And as I learned of conventions locally, I decided to go and check what its all about. As I went to my first con in 2012 at spooky empire, the first thing I notice was all the amazing, bizarre costumes.

Everything from Freddy Kruger to giant monsters, I even came across a chainsaw wielding teletubbie, which believe me when I say was disturbing but in a good way hahaha. The more I saw, the more determined I grew to become a better cosplayer and one of the worlds greatest. Each time you cosplay is a trial and error process, it takes time to see what works, what doesn't, which is best to use, and so on. Over my short time of being in the cosplay game, I can tell you I have learned a lot. Between self teaching myself to tips and tricks I have picked up at cons.

I have improved by a landslide to where I was bout fifteen years ago, doing my first Halloween costume. My most successful cosplays have been Freddy Krueger, joker, Fredd skeleton (mixture between Freddy Krueger and jack skeleton) and jack skeleton. Not a long list, due to I have only been cosplaying for a little over a year now as far as cons go, but with spooky empire coming right round the corner in may, ill have a few more great cosplays in store!

Haven Featured Stories
Recommended Reading

Featured Stories

The Spotlight

What's Trending

Haven Updates

Roleplay Events

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow "THIS JUST IN"
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
bottom of page